Share this article

America Online and Volkswagen, two companies that have built their names into outstanding global brands, have been elected to the prestigious Marketing Hall of Fame®, sponsored by the New York American Marketing Association. Each year, panels of experienced senior-level industry leaders select the brands most deserving of this distinction. This year’s Honorary Chairman of the Marketing Hall of Fame is Burt Manning, Chairman Emeritus of J. Walter Thompson Worldwide.

Volkswagen, based in Auburn Hills, MI, will be honored in the classic category-brands over 25 years old — for its enduring success in the marketplace. For over 51 years, Volkswagen has demonstrated that consistency is the key to effective brand building. Despite the ups and downs of business, Volkswagen has maintained one primary positioning: “We are different and proud of it.” Since 1995, when the “Drivers Wanted” campaign was introduced, the company has experienced one of the greatest comebacks in automotive history.

Volkswagen and America Online will be inducted in the Marketing Hall of Fame as a highlight of the 31st Annual EFFIE® Awards Show, presented by the New York AMA on June 7th at the Marriott Marquis in New York. Previous winners include Hallmark,, Coca Cola, Federal Express, Kodak, Disney, Nike, Saturn, Apple and McDonald’s.

The Marketing Hall of Fame was created in 1993 by the New York American Marketing Association ( to recognize the valuable contribution that marketing makes to the American free enterprise system. The Marketing Hall of Fame salutes those who have sustained success and contributed to overall marketing discipline by virtue of their high quality, innovation, and professionalism.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData