The pairing of Carlos Ghosn and Itaru Koeda as co-chairmen of the board are among changes Nissan has announced to its management and organisation to accelerate the implementation of NISSAN 180, the company’s three-year plan for profitable growth. The changes become effective on April 1, 2003.

Yoshikazu Hanawa will retire as board chairman and will not seek re-election as a board member at the annual general meeting. Hanawa will, however, become an advisor and honorary chairman. Thierry Moulonguet, Nissan’s current chief financial officer and EVP, will not seek re-election when his term expires on June 19, 2003.

Nissan’s board will subsequently comprise seven members compared to the current nine but the number of executive committee members will be expanded temporarily from the current eight to ten members, from April 1 to June 19, 2003.

Toshiyuki Shiga will join the committee as senior vice president in charge of general overseas markets (GOM) operations. He will also chair the management committee-GOM.

Alain-Pierre Raynaud, currently senior vice president and controller of Renault, will join Nissan’s executive committee as senior vice president, global controller.
Hanawa and Thierry Moulonguet will leave the executive committee after the annual meeting on June 19, 2003.

On March 31, 2003, four senior vice presidents — Hajime Kawasaki, Takashi Kitajima, Kuniaki Sasaki and Shigeru Takagi — will resign. On the same day, one vice president, Kiyoto Shinohara, and one regional vice president, Yoshikazu Ishizaki, will also resign.

The responsibilities of senior vice president Eiji Imai will be expanded to include the customer services division. He will report directly to president Ghosn. In addition to Raynaud, two senior vice presidents will be appointed, effective April 1, 2003: Hiroto Saikawa in charge of purchasing operations and Sadao Sekiyama in charge of the vehicle production engineering division.

On April 1, 2003, four new vice presidents will be nominated: Guillaume Gerondeau, product strategy and product planning division, reporting to Ghosn; Kimiyasu Nakamura, vehicle design engineering division 2 and vehicle component engineering; Joji Masuda, cost engineering division; and Akira Koyama, supply chain management division.

Two regional vice presidents will also be appointed: Toshiharu Sakai, manager of the Yokohama plant, and Kiyoshi Higuchi, manager of the Tochigi plant.

Teruo Takebe, currently regional vice president and manager of the Tochigi Plant, will move to a new job at Nissan Motor Iberica in Spain.

In order to better coordinate the performance improvement of domestic subsidiary dealers, Norio Matsumura, executive vice president, will chair the management committee-dealers, which will start operating in April.

Global Nissan Sales Service Way (NSSW) will be established to strengthen sales and service processes worldwide.

“As we successfully complete the first year of the NISSAN 180, we continue to adapt our organisation in order to better support our operations in our quest to deliver fully on our three-year plan,” Carlos Ghosn said.