Three separate US congressional hearings in coming weeks will examine Toyota‘s handling of a massive safety recall.

The first hearing will begin on 23 February at 1100EST (1600 GMT) at the House of Representatives’ Committee on Energy and Commerce, AFP reported.

The energy and commerce committee is requesting the attendance of president of Toyota Motor Sales USA Jim Lentz and David Strickland, administrator of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Kyodo News reported.

It was originally set for 25 February but was rescheduled in order to avoid conflict with a White House meeting on health care reform, AFP noted. The list of people testifying has not yet been published.

The second hearing will be on 24 February by the House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform at 1000EST (1500 GMT).

Originally set for last week, it was rescheduled due to a massive snowstorm which shut down Washington for days, AFP said.

Several members of the commission had invited Toyota’s president Akio Toyoda to testify but the Toyota family scion indicated Wednesday that he had no plan to appear and would instead give “maximum support” to his senior executives, including North America chief Yoshimi Inaba.

The Senate’s Commerce Committee is scheduled to hold a hearing on Toyota on 2 March at 1000 EST (1500 GMT).