Nissan’s Hong Kong-based Infiniti division has announced a new system of model names to be applied from 2013.

The new conventions will apply from North America’s 2014 model year, with existing models renamed to reflect their ranking within the brand’s line-up. In addition, the replacement for today’s G Sedan will be launched as the Infiniti Q50.

Each vehicle will be prefixed either by Q – for sedans, coupes and convertibles, or QX, for crossover and SUV models. Each model will be further identified by a double digit representing hierarchy within the range. The new line-up will be as follows:

  • Q50 (global debut at 2013 Detroit motor show)
  • Q60 (succeeds the G Coupe & Convertible)
  • Q70 (formerly M Sedan)
  • QX50 (formerly EX)
  • QX60 (formerly JX)
  • QX70 (formerly FX)
  • QX80 (formerly QX)

Commenting on the revised naming philosophy, Johan de Nysschen, President of Infiniti Motor Company Limited, said: “Over the past few months, we have talked at length with our retailers, our customers, and our business partners about our brand. The need for a new identity and direction to promote consumer familiarity with our model range as we expand the portfolio became evident. To achieve this, we clearly needed a simple and consistent nomenclature framework. After exhaustive research and evaluation, we concluded that ‘Q’ captured the inspiration within the next generation of Infiniti models, as well as emphasising our performance credentials while harking back to our heritage with the Q45 – Infiniti’s first iconic flagship product in 1989.”

Infiniti’s new nomenclature strategy will be implemented in logical stages within the existing product range, as 2014 model year variants are introduced.

As for the forthcoming C-segment model for European markets, this will logically be badged ‘Q30’ or ‘Q40’. This model, due in 2015, will use the Mercedes-Benz MFA platform (A-Class, B-Class, CLA-Class).

Author: Glenn Brooks