ACEA elects Dieter Zetsche as 2016 president

By Simon Warburton | 8 December 2015

European Automobile Manufacturers' Association (ACEA), has elected Daimler CEO, Dieter Zetsche as president for 2016. 

"I am particularly honoured to lead ACEA next year, as 2016 marks the association's 25th anniversary," said Zetsche.

"This will be an opportunity to build on the progress made by our industry over the past two and a half decades, and to tackle future innovation and challenges.

"Key priorities in the coming years include decarbonising road transport, improving air quality, and paving the way for connected and autonomous vehicles, which are all an important part of our response to meeting tomorrow's transportation needs."

In the light of the recent Volkswagen scandal, ACEA added it would also continue to contribute to the process to update and strengthen testing requirements for exhaust pollutant as well as CO2 emissions.

Zetsche will take over the reins from Renault Group CEO, Carlos Ghosn.

ACEA's president is elected for a year-long term, once renewable, from the CEOs, presidents or chairmen of its member companies.