The Automotive Hall of Fame recognised seven motor vehicle industry leaders at its annual awards luncheon held Sunday, January 27, 2002. The awards ceremony was held in conjunction with the annual convention of the National Automobile Dealers Association in New Orleans. Fujio Cho, President of Toyota Motor Corporation, was named the Automotive Hall of Fame's Industry Leader of the Year for 2001. Cho assumed the position of President in 1999.