The Euro was successfully launched on 1 January 1999 bringing the so-called 'Euroland' countries (Germany, France, Italy, Spain, Portugal, Finland, Eire, The Netherlands, Austria, Belgium and Luxembourg) under the umbrella of currency unification. Although Euro notes and coins will not be introduced until January 2002, the primary goal of the Euro, to create a single low-inflation economy with a more stable and resilient currency, is now well underway.