Nissan Motor has announced senior management appointments, effective 1 April. The changes cover the positions of executive committee members, executive vice presidents (EVP), corporate vice presidents (CVP), regional senior vice president (RSVP) and vice presidents (VP).

"Today's appointments will further strengthen a talented Nissan executive team and deploy proven leaders into key operational positions throughout the Nissan Monozukuri and to the Renault-Nissan Alliance," said Carlos Ghosn, Nissan president and CEO. "I would also like to acknowledge the contributions of the executives who are retiring from Nissan, and join their colleagues in thanking them for their many years of service."

Changes announced are:

Executive committee appointments:

Hideyuki Sakamoto is promoted EVP product engineering.

Fumiaki Matsumoto is promoted EVP manufacturing and supply chain management (SCM) operations.

Corporate officers, regional senior vice presidents and vice presidents:

Tsuyoshi Yamaguchi is appointed EVP alliance technology development.

Shohei Kimura is appointed EVP alliance manufacturing engineering and SCM.

Naoya Fujimoto is appointed CVP Nissan product development No. 1.

Mitsuro Antoku is appointed CVP Nissan product development No. 2.

Hari Nada is appointed CVP office of the CEO.

Arun Bajaj is appointed CVP Nissan global human resources.

Atul Pasricha is appointed CVP Monozukuri control and affiliated companies.

Toshihiro Hirai is appointed CVP and alliance global director powertrain engineering division No. 1.

Hiroshi Nagaoka is appointed CVP and alliance global director computer aided engineering (CAE) and testing division No. 1.

Nobuya Uranishi is appointed CVP and alliance global director purchasing.

Shoichi Matsumoto is appointed RSVP manufacturing and SCM Japan, Asia.

Toru Takahashi is appointed VP and plant manager Oppama.

Yoshikazu Nakai is appointed VP total customer satisfaction function (TCSX).

Takahide Tsujitani is appointed VP and alliance global director purchasing projects and support functions.

Corporate officers leaving Nissan Motor:

Mitsuhiko Yamashita will retire as EVP and continue as a director.

Hidetoshi Imazu will retire as EVP and continue as a director.

Atsushi Shizuta will become EVP Unipres.

Shigeaki Kato will become President Automotive Energy Supply Corporation (AESC).

Toshiaki Otani will be transferred to NIDEC.

Makoto Yoshimoto will be transferred to Kiriu.

Hideto Murakami will become SVP Calsonic Kansei.

Shuichi Nishimura will retire.

Motohiro Matsumura will become COO Nissan Motor Sports International.

Simon Sproule will retire.

Kimio Tomita will retire.